Home Accessibility Courses Twitter The Mouth Facebook Resources Site Map About Us Contact
 
Python, Lua, Tcl, C and C++ training - public course schedule [here]
Private courses on your site - see [here]
Please ask about maintenance training for Perl, PHP, Java, Ruby, MySQL and Linux / Tomcat systems
 
Buffet review - taking the price into account

I've noticed that customer reviews tend not to take price into consideration, and indeed the most slamming of reviews come from people who have picked up a real bargain. That's one of the reasons (another being that we've not got the capacity to handle the extra traffic at Well House Manor) that we don't go Groupon or Wowcher or Amazon Local deals, and why I'm put off by Secret Hotels and Trivago. Drive the price down and - despite what the advert says - you're likely to be put in the room that's noisy by the lift shaft (not at our place - we don't have a lift, and all of our rooms have people asking "May I have room "x" again, so there's no worst).

I'm going to buck the trend and say that my meal last night was very tasty, appeared hygenic, was plentiful, and was excellent value for the price.



I will admit to skipping breakfast and having just a sandwich for lunch today, and I'll admit to loving a bit of really old fashioned and bad-for-you food occasionally, so as you can see this was right up my street. I slept well thereafter.

Venue - Taybarns, Swansea. Total price - £6.98 - that was £4.49 for the food as I now get an age discount before 6p.m. and £2.49 for the bottomless soft drink.
(written 2015-02-05)

 
Associated topics are indexed as below, or enter http://melksh.am/nnnn for individual articles
G502 - Well House Consultants - Business Practice
  [4520] No cold sales calls please - but delighted to hear from others! - (2015-09-29)
  [4293] Certification - (2014-09-15)
  [4107] Snog, Marry, Avoid - (2013-05-31)
  [3755] Cruising on the Mersey Ferry? - (2012-06-07)
  [3750] Matching opening hours to when customers can come in and buy - (2012-06-04)
  [3665] Will will smile? - (2012-03-22)
  [3613] Keeping Business Local. But is that realistic? - (2012-02-13)
  [3506] Cold call contacts - preference services and turning off spam sales approaches - (2011-11-03)
  [3333] Honesty and a friendly welcome goes a long way - (2011-06-25)
  [3157] A new monopoly on the ferry to Northern Ireland - (2011-02-04)
  [3073] Customer Service - the boundary - (2010-11-27)
  [2966] Cheap Country Hotel in Melksham, Wiltshire? - (2010-09-21)
  [2936] The service that customers should receive - (2010-08-27)
  [2821] Chancellor George Osborne inspires Perl Program - (2010-06-22)
  [2788] Cost of Sales - (2010-06-01)
  [2598] An excuse for making a sales call - (2010-01-26)
  [2465] Melksham Town - asleep or awake? - (2009-10-21)
  [2331] Certification Revisted - Lua - (2009-08-09)
  [2283] Everyone is in the customer relations business - (2009-07-12)
  [2190] How you are (re)presented at an exhibition - (2009-05-19)
  [2187] Are we IITT (Institute of IT Training) members? - (2009-05-17)
  [2161] Get it right ... if it goes wrong, it takes so much effort to sort out! - (2009-05-08)
  [2126] Weeding out old phone numbers - (2009-04-11)
  [2122] Commission Creep - (2009-04-08)
  [2044] Please Trouble me - (2009-02-16)
  [1913] Alastair Darling helps make paperwork and confusion - (2008-11-30)
  [1855] Volunteer v Employee - a skewed balance? (FSB) - (2008-10-25)
  [1713] Ways to accept credit cards - or not! - (2008-07-19)
  [1626] Early May - a short chance to regroup and improve - (2008-05-01)
  [1485] Copyright and theft of images, bandwidth and members. - (2007-12-26)
  [1453] What makes our courses special? - (2007-12-02)
  [1394] Business to Business Networking - North and West Wilts / Melksham - (2007-10-17)
  [1373] New Month, New Quarter, New Laws - (2007-10-01)
  [1342] Google, wwmdirectory, Freshwater, ATP - new scam? - (2007-09-09)
  [1319] Customer feedback - lifeblood of a business - (2007-08-25)
  [1263] 0800 043 8225 - a new phone number for Well House - (2007-07-10)
  [1260] An inspirational business talk from one of our prospective MPs - (2007-07-06)
  [1243] Heavy duty hole punch - (2007-06-24)
  [1165] Extended Credit request - train in June and be paid in September - (2007-04-27)
  [1157] Speed Networking - a great evening and how we arranged it - (2007-04-21)
  [1133] B-2-B Networking, 20th April. Useful for YOUR business? - (2007-04-03)
  [1084] Writing terms and conditions for conferences and other events - (2007-02-17)
  [1057] Selling by phone and Skype - our policy - (2007-01-30)
  [906] A commitment we won't be making - (2006-10-27)
  [883] Age discrimination law - (2006-10-01)
  [869] UNABLE TO ATTEND - (2006-09-16)
  [849] Staff Meeting - (2006-08-30)
  [808] Sales call - (2006-07-19)
  [766] Discounts and approved supplier lists - (2006-06-17)
  [664] Ruby course - oops - it's not happening - (2006-04-01)
  [652] Morning Post - (2006-03-20)
  [626] Not just a pretty face to answer the phone. - (2006-02-26)
  [536] Cancellations and penalties - (2005-12-21)
  [491] Being atypical is typical - (2005-11-10)
  [487] On line course booking - credit card protection - (2005-11-06)
  [467] Tell them three times - (2005-10-17)
  [457] Do the work and take the risk - a PHP contract to avoid - (2005-10-06)
  [438] Fair system for travel and accommodation expenses - (2005-09-07)
  [399] simplicity hides real size - (2005-07-31)
  [321] Sales - the alternative close - (2005-05-23)
  [297] A reminder that the customer is King - (2005-05-01)
  [226] Growing our systems - (2005-02-24)
  [217] Use of time - (2005-02-16)
  [211] Look after your staff and they'll look after you. AOL. - (2005-02-12)
  [200] Tips for the top - (2005-02-03)
  [188] Pink elephant and appreciation - (2005-01-24)
  [180] Skunk works - (2005-01-17)
  [157] Automatic service upgrades - (2004-12-19)
  [137] Certification schemes - (2004-12-02)
  [129] Trawling our site to prevent student copying - (2004-11-24)
  [125] Staff theft - (2004-11-21)
  [121] Fair and Simple - (2004-11-17)
  [108] A typical morning - (2004-11-03)
  [95] Five red flags - (2004-10-21)
  [88] Getting the right level of trainer - (2004-10-14)
  [77] Telephone systems - (2004-10-07)
  [68] Get the strategy worked out and the tactics just fall into place. - (2004-09-30)
  [27] Sales technique - (2004-08-25)
  [15] 90 to 10 or 80 to 20 rule - (2004-08-15)

G205 - Well House Consultants - Food and Drink.
  [3387] Eating out in Melksham - where we like for lunch. - (2011-08-11)
  [3233] C / C++ Course Lunch - sitting out at the West End - (2011-04-07)
  [3199] Lunch for Melksham Businesses - (2011-03-11)
  [3182] What we look for in a lunchtime cafe restaurant in Melksham - (2011-02-24)
  [2784] Course Lunches - (2010-05-27)
  [2591] Melksham Hotel, B and B or business accommodation? - (2010-01-20)
  [2590] A healthy, local breakfast in Melksham - (2010-01-19)
  [1904] Ruby, Perl, Linux, MySQL - some training notes - (2008-11-23)
  [1843] How many cups of coffee? - (2008-10-17)
  [1332] Melksham Hotel - Five Star Kitchen! - (2007-09-04)
  [456] Laying out a vegetarian lunch - (2005-10-05)
  [302] Dining full circle - (2005-05-06)
  [221] Lunchtime Drink - (2005-02-20)
  [207] Canteen Dragon - (2005-02-09)
  [184] MTBF of coffee machines - (2005-01-20)
  [36] Tesco at 5 - (2004-09-02)


Back to
Java - converting an integer to a fixed length string
Previous and next
or
Horse's mouth home
Forward to
Challenging the IT course business model
Some other Articles
Java Inheritance example - group of classes - step by step
Melksham Community Campus - which of these potential signs do you like?
Crisp morning, fast run
Challenging the IT course business model
Buffet review - taking the price into account
Java - converting an integer to a fixed length string
Binomial Coefficient (Pascal Triangle) objects in Java
Java -making sure you have the right versions
Location, location location. And a chance of a giggle!
A good example of recursion - a real use in Python
4754 posts, page by page
Link to page ... 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96 at 50 posts per page


This is a page archived from The Horse's Mouth at http://www.wellho.net/horse/ - the diary and writings of Graham Ellis. Every attempt was made to provide current information at the time the page was written, but things do move forward in our business - new software releases, price changes, new techniques. Please check back via our main site for current courses, prices, versions, etc - any mention of a price in "The Horse's Mouth" cannot be taken as an offer to supply at that price.

Link to Ezine home page (for reading).
Link to Blogging home page (to add comments).

You can Add a comment or ranking to this page

© WELL HOUSE CONSULTANTS LTD., 2017: 404 The Spa • Melksham, Wiltshire • United Kingdom • SN12 6QL
PH: 01144 1225 708225 • EMAIL: info@wellho.net • WEB: http://www.wellho.net • SKYPE: wellho

PAGE: http://www.wellho.net/mouth/4415_Buf ... count.html • PAGE BUILT: Sat May 27 16:49:10 2017 • BUILD SYSTEM: WomanWithCat