| |||||||||||
| |||||||||||
Who are all these visitors?
I've noticed some strange visitors in our referrer logs of late .... as if 250 people per day were clicking through from a link on www.nut-zu.com. Odd, and a bit worrying. On examining the log files, it appears that there must be thousands of links on that site - with many of their pages linked to ours. And yet ... visiting the site ... it looked just like some gambling site and the HTML source gave nothing away.
Thanks to the journal of Matthew McGlynn for solving the mystery for me. It seems that the false references are being generated in the (unfounded) hope that my site displays web referrer information somewhere ... which will act as an advert for these people. Clumsy tool, and a bandwidth waster. I'm considering whether of not it's worth bothering with Matt's filtering suggestions, or whether I should start returning a "403" (forbidden) response to that domain - we could do that easily enough from any page because of our PHP infrastructure. But at the same time, I'm just a little concerned that I might not fully appreciate why / how these people are doing this. The domain name quoted has been altered slightly to avoid giving these people any free automated publicity. I believe that the name I've actually quoted is unregistered (written 2005-02-20 18:19:27)
Associated topics are indexed under G902 - Well House Consultants - Web site techniques, utility and visibility
Some other Articles
Growing our systems10 years and counting YOUR application and YOUR data There is a function in PHP to do that Who are all these visitors? Lunchtime Drink When to use Frames Some unusual features Golden Nugget Use of time 1710 posts, page by page
Link to page ... 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 at 50 posts per pageThis is a page archived from The Horse's Mouth at http://www.wellho.net/horse/ - the diary and writings of Graham Ellis. Every attempt was made to provide current information at the time the page was written, but things do move forward in our business - new software releases, price changes, new techniques. Please check back via our main site for current courses, prices, versions, etc - any mention of a price in "The Horse's Mouth" cannot be taken as an offer to supply at that price. Link to Ezine home page (for reading). Link to Blogging home page (to add comments). |
| ||||||||||
PH: 01144 1225 708225 • FAX: 01144 1225 707126 • EMAIL: info@wellho.net • WEB: http://www.wellho.net • SKYPE: wellho | |||||||||||