Home Accessibility Courses Twitter The Mouth Facebook Resources Site Map About Us Contact
 
NEW SERVER - 11.9.2020 ... Retiring, March 2020 - sorry, you have missed our final public course.
The Coronavirus situation has lead us to suspend public training - which was on the cards anyway, with no plans to resume

Please ask about private 'maintenance' training for Python, Tcl, Perl, PHP, Lua, etc
Happily continuing private consultancy / programming work
 
Review of the Autumn

This has been a very busy Autumn for Well House Consultants. In October, Lisa and I took a week away from presenting courses to attend a conferenece with speakers including the originators of Perl, PHP and MySQL ... yet still our October business level didn't dip. November was our best month ever, and every possible training day (right up to today) has been given over to training in December; after today, we're stopping training until the next (private) course on 4th January.

Rather like coming to the end of a long school term, there's a slight tiredness creeping in; last night, I elected to stop in a hotel only 60 miles from home to ensure that I'm in good shape and fresh for the last day of training in the year, whereas normally I might have commuted. And I'm glad I'm not doing a five full days for once. And yet - as soon as I get in front of a group of trainees what a pure pleasure it is to be able to introduce them to highlights and hidden gems in the subjects they're learning - help get them off to a flying start in the new year!

The three days this week (three one-day private sessions) have all been concerned, one way or another, with MySQL. On Monday, we were looking at complex joins and how to write them efficiently, and also how to design table structures to aid this - how to set up indexes, and whether some data denormalisation might be called for. Tuesday, the course covered Linux admin and backup procedures, and we included such topics as scheduling regular mysqldumps in order to ensure that the total system backups included good SQL information even if the system was live while backups were taken. Today (Wednesday) was a more general MySQL day - and overview of the topics covered on the public course, but with a group of 5 trainees it was much more effective for me to run a private course in Oxford.
(written 2004-12-22, updated 2006-06-05)

 
Associated topics are indexed as below, or enter http://melksh.am/nnnn for individual articles
G209 - Well House Consultants - Keeping up to date
  [4314] PHP training - refreshed modern course, backed up by years of practical experience - (2014-11-16)
  [4200] Endorsed Perl, Python and PHP training - Tcl, Lua, Ruby and C too! - (2013-10-24)
  [3755] Cruising on the Mersey Ferry? - (2012-06-07)
  [3653] What is happening in 59 days time in Melksham? - (2012-03-14)
  [3469] Teaching dilemma - old tricks and techniques, or recent enhancements? - (2011-10-08)
  [3003] What will we be teaching in six years? - (2010-10-17)
  [2940] Training course locations - Melksham, UK; Buxton, UK; Lake Constance, Germany; Venice Italy, the USA and India - (2010-08-30)
  [2564] Microblogging services - Plurk, Twitter, Jaiku and more - (2010-01-05)
  [2352] Printed Directories - the start of the updating season - (2009-08-12)
  [2078] A lot has changed - but the memory lingers on - (2009-03-12)
  [2032] Mobile Internet - an alternative to hotel WiFi - (2009-02-09)
  [1488] New trainee laptop fleet for our Open Source courses - (2007-12-30)
  [396] The next technologies - (2005-07-29)
  [250] We dont stand still - (2005-03-18)
  [143] Network Camera - (2004-12-07)
  [86] Talk review - Idiomatic Perl, David Cross - (2004-10-12)
  [83] Geek Cruising - (2004-10-11)
  [82] Keeping up to date - (2004-10-10)


Back to
MySQL - Optimising Selects
Previous and next
or
Horse's mouth home
Forward to
Christmas break
Some other Articles
Well House Consultants - review of 2004
Introduction fees, bonuses, commissions, kickbacks
A Change is as good as a rest
Christmas break
Review of the Autumn
MySQL - Optimising Selects
MySQL - LEFT JOIN and RIGHT JOIN, INNER JOIN and OUTER JOIN
Automatic service upgrades
Signage
Railway train service, Melksham station
4759 posts, page by page
Link to page ... 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96 at 50 posts per page


This is a page archived from The Horse's Mouth at http://www.wellho.net/horse/ - the diary and writings of Graham Ellis. Every attempt was made to provide current information at the time the page was written, but things do move forward in our business - new software releases, price changes, new techniques. Please check back via our main site for current courses, prices, versions, etc - any mention of a price in "The Horse's Mouth" cannot be taken as an offer to supply at that price.

Link to Ezine home page (for reading).
Link to Blogging home page (to add comments).

You can Add a comment or ranking to this page

© WELL HOUSE CONSULTANTS LTD., 2020: 48 Spa Road • Melksham, Wiltshire • United Kingdom • SN12 7NY
PH: 01144 1225 708225 • EMAIL: info@wellho.net • WEB: http://www.wellho.net • SKYPE: wellho

PAGE: http://www.wellho.net/mouth/160_Revi ... utumn.html • PAGE BUILT: Sat May 27 16:49:10 2017 • BUILD SYSTEM: WomanWithCat