Home Accessibility Courses Twitter The Mouth Facebook Resources Site Map About Us Contact
 
For 2021 - online Python 3 training - see ((here)).

Our plans were to retire in summer 2020 and see the world, but Coronavirus has lead us into a lot of lockdown programming in Python 3 and PHP 7.
We can now offer tailored online training - small groups, real tutors - works really well for groups of 4 to 14 delegates. Anywhere in the world; course language English.

Please ask about private 'maintenance' training for Python 2, Tcl, Perl, PHP, Lua, etc.
Geekmas - a brief review

What a fun weekend!

Thank you for coming everyone!

Now it might not be everyone's idea of fun, but our training room was stuffed full on Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning with "geeks" - I hope you don't mind me calling you that - as we explored views and exchanged ideas on open source languages and their applications. Represented were commercial organisations, folks from the academic world, and independent contractors and small business people too.

Without exception, everyone made a great contribution to our enjoyment of what we christened "Geekmas" and it will be a slippery slope for me if I start to single out individuals - however - I'm going to take that risk and than Bruce for his talk covering Design Patterns, with examples written in Perl. Although I found many of the techniques familiar, it's the first time I've seen them formalised and presented in that way and I'll now be thinking about my classes (in PHP and Python too) in an extra new light.

For anyone who didn't make the weekend, there's an agenda on this web site with links in it to the material that we covered.
(written 2004-11-29, updated 2006-06-05)

 
Associated topics are indexed as below, or enter http://melksh.am/nnnn for individual articles
G901 - Well House Consultants - Talks and lectures
  [62] Technical Open House - (2004-09-25)
  [99] Should we call it 'Geekmas'? - (2004-10-25)
  [128] Technical Weekend / Geekmas - (2004-11-23)
  [247] Extreme training - (2005-03-16)
  [310] Just in time - the talk is writ - (2005-05-13)
  [924] The LAMP Cookbook - Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP / Perl - (2006-11-13)
  [1101] Mushroom Curry and Perl Courses - (2007-03-07)
  [1242] Speaking at St. Catherine's College, Oxford University - (2007-06-24)
  [1419] National Speaker - now to get the talk ready - (2007-11-02)
  [1422] Wiltshire - speaker / after dinner talker offer - (2007-11-05)
  [1459] Interactive training, and advancing techniques further - (2007-12-05)
  [3221] How long is a speech? - (2011-03-29)
  [3351] Research and development with the help of your tutor or guide - (2011-07-09)
  [3834] Geekmas 2012 - celebrating open source languages such as Perl, PHP and Python - (2012-08-11)
  [4284] Talk and walk to promote train service - Melksham Carnival - (2014-07-11)


Back to
Tcl embeds
Previous and next
or
Horse's mouth home
Forward to
Too many Perls
Some other Articles
Perl - redo and last without a loop
Certification schemes
Please tell us
Too many Perls
Geekmas - a brief review
Tcl embeds
Portrait of the author
Thanksgiving dinner
Spelling and grammar
Trawling our site to prevent student copying
4759 posts, page by page
Link to page ... 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96 at 50 posts per page


This is a page archived from The Horse's Mouth at http://www.wellho.net/horse/ - the diary and writings of Graham Ellis. Every attempt was made to provide current information at the time the page was written, but things do move forward in our business - new software releases, price changes, new techniques. Please check back via our main site for current courses, prices, versions, etc - any mention of a price in "The Horse's Mouth" cannot be taken as an offer to supply at that price.

Link to Ezine home page (for reading).
Link to Blogging home page (to add comments).

You can Add a comment or ranking to this page

© WELL HOUSE CONSULTANTS LTD., 2021: 48 Spa Road • Melksham, Wiltshire • United Kingdom • SN12 7NY
PH: 01144 1225 708225 • EMAIL: info@wellho.net • WEB: http://www.wellho.net • SKYPE: wellho

PAGE: http://www.wellho.net/mouth/134_Geek ... eview.html • PAGE BUILT: Sun Oct 11 16:07:41 2020 • BUILD SYSTEM: JelliaJamb