Training, Open Source computer languages

PerlPHPPythonMySQLhttpd / TomcatTclRubyJavaC and C++LinuxCSS

Search our site for:
Home Accessibility Courses Diary The Mouth Forum Resources Site Map About Us Contact
Google, wwmdirectory, Freshwater, ATP - new scam?
While I was away last week, Lisa received two invoices in the post with the Goole logo on them - for 79.99 each - and wondered what I had been ordering. Nothing - I believe they are a SCAM. Having used the esteemed Google search engine itself to look into these and draing a blank, we have taken it up with Google who are looking into it. Me thinks if it was genuine, they would have known / put us right in touch with the correct department.





Let me give you some key words / text so that you can see if you get a similar invoice.

Google TTP - www.wwmdirectory.com

77 Brambles Chine, Monk Lane, Freshwater, Isle of Wight, PO40 9SU

Advertising subject to adherence to our credit terms. This Pro-forma invoice is a special offer and can be cancelled on request or non-payment without obligation or recourse. More sales or money back offer


I think that latter says - "This isn't an invoice you requested so it's up to you whether you pay or not. And if you don't pay, there's nothing we can do about it". Ah ... I don't think I'll pay. So glad that Lisa has the presence of mind not to be taken in by quite a cleverly worded scam.

I've put an item on the Opentalk forum on this - Please follow up or update me if you know more!




An Update. It looks like we're not the only one to have received these invoices. Lisa writes:

Phil Brierley of York House Leisure received an invoice from ATP (Google Adwords) and googled for more information and came across your blog.
 


He [phoned] wanted to discuss your experience...I relayed the fact we've reported them to Google. He actually phoned ATP to query the invoice and was hung up on...the chappy being very evasive.
 


He's very much against this type of scamming and wondered if he could help, or if a combine effort would help, etc. give him a call to discuss if you are interested.


I've been in touch with Phil, and he has posted a follow up on the forum too. We've been in touch with Google and I'm updating this page / item as I hear more so that it becomes prominent. Would love more stories ....
(written 2007-09-09 15:22:56)

Commentatorsays ...
Marc:Hi!
Snap just got one myself and was about to contact google when picked up your posting....thx
(comment added 2007-09-12 09:24:59)
Associated topics are indexed under
G502 - Well House Consultants - Business Practise

Back to
Moving to Melksham? Househunting map.
Previous and next
or
Horse's mouth home
Forward to
Melksham Laundrette

Some other Articles
Evening, Devizes and Sells Green
Perl and Shell coding standards / costs of an IT project
Catching up on indexing our resources
Melksham Laundrette
Google, wwmdirectory, Freshwater, ATP - new scam?
Moving to Melksham? Househunting map.
Tk locks up - 100% c.p.u. on a simple program (Tcl, Perl, Python)
Packages and Namespaces are like Suitcases and Aircraft
Handling Binary data in Tcl (with a note on C)
A series of tyre damages
1693 posts, page by page
Link to page ... 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 at 50 posts per page


This is a page archived from The Horse's Mouth at http://www.wellho.net/horse/ - the diary and writings of Graham Ellis. Every attempt was made to provide current information at the time the page was written, but things do move forward in our business - new software releases, price changes, new techniques. Please check back via our main site for current courses, prices, versions, etc - any mention of a price in "The Horse's Mouth" cannot be taken as an offer to supply at that price.

Link to Ezine home page (for reading).
Link to Blogging home page (to add comments).

© WELL HOUSE CONSULTANTS LTD., 2008: Well House Manor • 48 Spa Road • Melksham, Wiltshire • United Kingdom • SN12 7NY
PH: 01144 1225 708225 • FAX: 01144 1225 707126 • EMAIL: info@wellho.net • WEB: http://www.wellho.net • SKYPE: wellho