Hotel and training centre, Melksham, Wiltshire
High quality accommodation for course delegates, business travellers and the leisure visitor too.

Home Accessibility Bedrooms Book Here The Mouth Facebook Resources Find Us About Us Contact
 
Python and Tcl - public course schedule [here]
Private courses on your site - see [here]
Please ask about maintenance training for Perl, PHP, Lua, etc
 
On reading a new hotel review

Most of visitors are with us on business. They don't tip, they don't review us on the review sites, they arrive late and they want early breakfast. And we love them - they're what we're set up for, so they're naturally easy for us to look after and they're thoughtful in letting us know if they will be very late. Many of them enjoy having a chat (and we learn about all different parts of the world, with different practises, religions and views) and become good friends. They also come all through the year.

So we don't have a lot of online reviews and there's still an excitement and an eager anticipation twinged with a very slight wonder about what we'll find, when a new review's posted and we get an email to tell us.

Ostensibly advertised and promoted as a business hotel/B&B, this well run clean and spacious place is equally suitable for couples on holiday in the area.


Thank you, sir. Yes - it is very suitable for couples on holiday. It's simply that the holiday season is short and we've got to maximise room occupancy because we're so small - with such a few rooms, we can't afford to have them empty for weeks on end which we would if we concentrated on seasonal traffic. So many couples have children they would want to bring (sorry - we can't take children) or dogs (yes, we can take them!).

Very warm and informative welcome, well-trained and friendly staff and all the plug sockets and wifi you could want (Well House also runs I.T. courses).


I note, with pride, that staff come first. They are vital. We've had some external training, but mostly it's a question of us learning from and training each other - listening and observing and acting on what we learn and observe too! It's all too easy to consult and then ignore.

Our room was very clean, modern and comfortable. The mattress was super soft and there was ample and plush seating. A spacious bathroom with an amazing double shower and underfloor heating.

Our only gripe was that we could hear road noise due to the lack of double glazing, but we're from the country and not used to town living! There was no noise pollution from other guests. The town centre was a mere three minute walk away.

Breakfast was a very acceptable continental serve yourself affair.


Yes... our rooms are "Five Star Luxury", though we don't have enough rooms to be able to meet five star requirements for the hotel as a whole. A night porter who would do virtually nothing is not something that our customers have asked for, and the call button that gets us up less than once a month is a good economic substitute.

We are aware of one particular room (and it's many people's favourite!) that is a little noisier than others. We've planted a hedge to act as a noise buffer and we'll place guests who ask for a quiet room (or ask how noisy the hotel is) into other rooms.

The owner was incredibly knowledgeable about the area and was happy to spend time with us discussing the merits of Melksham.


I'm amazed at the number of hotels I stay in where the staff don't know their own area. But then so many people live in a town, but don't know what it has to offer to the visitor - the swimming pool, the tourist information centre, walks in the countryside, or the blue plaque / history trail, bus times, and which restaurant is good for vegetarian, Halal or gluten free eating. We make a point of learning - and listening to feedback too so that we can better inform future guests too.

I finish, as I started, with our team. They're so important. Thank you Sarah, Heather, Rachel and Poppy on front of house and thank you Phil and Lisa, who also represent us to our customers in their roles.
(written 2013-03-24, updated 2013-03-31)

 
Associated topics are indexed as below, or enter http://melksh.am/nnnn for individual articles
M400 - Well House Manor - The Hospitality Business
  [4613] Our best hotel customers help us ... to help them ... be our best customers. - (2016-01-04)
  [4603] Happy New Year. Our customers are our ambassadors - (2016-01-01)
  [4543] Saturday morning at Well House Manor - (2015-10-17)
  [4521] Should we get an AA or Visit Wiltshire hotel assessment? - (2015-10-09)
  [4321] Are administration / review charges on hotel guests acceptable? - (2014-11-20)
  [4232] Not wanted here - hotel guests who will not be happy - (2013-12-30)
  [4202] Excellent Railfuture conference, but some setup lessons - (2013-11-03)
  [4033] Official Star ratings for hotels - still worth having? - (2013-03-07)
  [3988] Three cheers for the staff at Well House Manor - (2013-01-24)
  [3909] Every Customer Counts - (2012-11-01)
  [3838] Guest review - Well House Manor, Melksham - (2012-08-14)
  [3832] A busy day at Well House Manor - so come in and make it even busier! - (2012-08-10)
  [3743] Sunday - no longer a day of rest - (2012-05-28)
  [3660] A Pivotal Incident - learning how to welcome your guests - (2012-03-18)
  [3309] Tipping Policy - Well House Manor - (2011-05-29)
  [3164] Brown - or Mrs Sally Brown, accountant from Whitstable? - (2011-02-10)
  [3147] Hotel star ratings - towards a better system of review - (2011-01-25)
  [2936] The service that customers should receive - (2010-08-27)
  [2879] Night Porter and reception - 24 hours a day? - (2010-07-20)
  [2724] Escapee Grandparents welcome - Henfield and Melksham - (2010-04-15)
  [2593] Food and drink launch - (2010-01-21)
  [2303] Turning potential customers away - (2009-07-24)
  [2283] Everyone is in the customer relations business - (2009-07-12)
  [2007] Launch of Melksham Food and Drink Festival - (2009-01-24)
  [1877] Guests doing a bunk? - (2008-11-09)
  [1792] All the pieces fall into place - hotel and courses - (2008-09-10)
  [1622] An extra step - victory from defeat - (2008-04-25)
  [1548] Hotelympia - show report - the lighter side - (2008-02-21)
  [1445] Looking after you Christmas Customer Crowds - (2007-11-26)
  [1422] Wiltshire - speaker / after dinner talker offer - (2007-11-05)
  [1421] Castle Lodge Hotel, Ely, Cambridgeshire - (2007-11-04)
  [1284] An update on the West Wilts show ... - (2007-07-30)
  [1248] How NOT to oversell a hotel - (2007-06-27)
  [1180] Conjugation - (2007-05-08)
  [1161] A contrast in room rates and facilities - (2007-04-25)
  [1122] Hotel - online feedback forms compared - (2007-03-30)
  [1108] Express service - (2007-03-14)
  [1084] Writing terms and conditions for conferences and other events - (2007-02-17)
  [1048] Getting rid of people - hotel techniques - (2007-01-21)
  [1046] Bounce, bounce, bounce - (2007-01-20)
  [1002] Meet the neighbours - (2006-12-20)
  [988] You should think you're first in a hotel room - (2006-12-15)
  [922] Staying at your own hotel - (2006-11-12)
  [884] Drive time - (2006-10-02)
  [774] Bed and Breakfast, or Hotel? - (2006-06-22)


Back to
A couple of new fast-start PHP examples
Previous and next
or
Horse's mouth home
Forward to
The PHP course this week is in... Salford
Some other Articles
Using web services to access you data - JSON and RESTful services
On Salford Docks - mind over matter?
Frameworks - learning through exploring and understanding data sources
The PHP course this week is in... Salford
On reading a new hotel review
A couple of new fast-start PHP examples
Business meetings in Melksham - Well House Manor
Art, Catering, Transport - Melksham Campus Elements - reaching local experts
Looking for Creative Design, Catering and Transport inputs to help with Melksham Campus
Over a hundred welcoming businesses - Melksham Town Centre
4759 posts, page by page
Link to page ... 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96 at 50 posts per page


This is a page archived from The Horse's Mouth at http://www.wellho.net/horse/ - the diary and writings of Graham Ellis. Every attempt was made to provide current information at the time the page was written, but things do move forward in our business - new software releases, price changes, new techniques. Please check back via our main site for current courses, prices, versions, etc - any mention of a price in "The Horse's Mouth" cannot be taken as an offer to supply at that price.

Link to Ezine home page (for reading).
Link to Blogging home page (to add comments).

You can Add a comment or ranking to this page
Hello. I'm Graham Ellis. If you have a question about the hotel, please ask me or

 

then book here

© WELL HOUSE CONSULTANTS LTD., 2019: 404 The Spa • Melksham, Wiltshire • United Kingdom • SN12 6QL
PH: 01225 708225 • EMAIL: info@wellho.net • WEB: http://www.wellho.net • SKYPE: wellho

PAGE: http://www.wellho.net/mouth/4051_On- ... eview.html • PAGE BUILT: Sat May 27 16:49:10 2017 • BUILD SYSTEM: WomanWithCat