Home Accessibility Courses Twitter The Mouth Facebook Resources Site Map About Us Contact
For 2023 - we are now fully retired from IT training.
We have made many, many friends over 25 years of teaching about Python, Tcl, Perl, PHP, Lua, Java, C and C++ - and MySQL, Linux and Solaris/SunOS too. Our training notes are now very much out of date, but due to upward compatability most of our examples remain operational and even relevant ad you are welcome to make us if them "as seen" and at your own risk.

Lisa and I (Graham) now live in what was our training centre in Melksham - happy to meet with former delegates here - but do check ahead before coming round. We are far from inactive - rather, enjoying the times that we are retired but still healthy enough in mind and body to be active!

I am also active in many other area and still look after a lot of web sites - you can find an index ((here))
Ken Palm, iTime, and Domain Name Tasting

Have you come across "domain name tasting" - try before you buy from ICANN. It is the practice of registering a domain name (and placing pay-per-click ads on it for a few days) to gauge whether the ads will make more than the annual cost of the domain. Read more about it here (link opens in separate window). Apparently, "domain name tasting" has developed from a five day grace period on domain registration which allows people to turn in domains that they have registered by mistake.

How did I come across Domain Name Tasting? From researching a Ken Palm of i-Time Marketing, Falcon, Colorado ... or of flkdomaindiscovery.com or of thepreferredurl.com or of Davenport, Iowa.

Ken wrote to me on Monday, offering to sell me phpquiz.com for $557.

He wrote to me on Tuesday, with something he had forgotten to mention.

On Thursday, he sent me a reminder and a nice link I could buy through.

Saturday, and he tells me about a limited period discount he's offering.

And on Sunday he writes "Make me an offer" ...

I don't actually want to register phpquiz.com - we already have www.phpquiz.co.uk, but something in Ken's emails - his extravagant claims for the domain - made me have a look into him and I discovered what appears to be a "scam", where he tastes a domain for a few days, during which time he tries to sell it to interested parties in exactly the way he has tried to sell to us. I understand that if you are REALLY interested in a domain that Ken Palm is looking to sell, are willing to take a very slight risk and wait a few days for him to return it, you'll be able to register it for $10 or so. I learned that from here and here

An Update - shortly after writing this entry, I was contacted by David Harper, who has also had a similar set of emails from Ken Palm. David has written a far more detailed account here which will fill you in on this scam in much more detail - David, thank you for letting me know about your page (and thanks for the link too ;-) )
(written 2008-08-25, updated 2008-09-04)

Associated topics are indexed as below, or enter http://melksh.am/nnnn for individual articles
G910 - Well House Consultants - Scams
  [78] Domain Registry of America - (2004-10-07)
  [178] Calling a spade a spade - (2005-01-15)
  [347] Frightening and from-friend viruses and spams - (2005-06-14)
  [860] Warning - false emails, said to be from Paypal - (2006-09-09)
  [1313] Tratum Technologies - (2007-08-21)
  [1342] Google, wwmdirectory, Freshwater, ATP - new scam? - (2007-09-09)
  [1680] Astroturfing - the online definition - (2008-06-17)
  [1795] What have iTime, honeytrapagency and domain listing center got in common? - (2008-09-12)
  [2373] Translation from Ghanaian to English - (2009-08-23)
  [2403] Hotel Booking Scam / Cost of calls to 070 numbers - (2009-09-12)
  [2524] An update on legal changes from the FSB? - (2009-12-03)
  [2690] The World Company Register - is it another scam? - (2010-03-23)
  [2895] Global Computer Maintenance Department - (2010-07-29)
  [2988] Not mugged in London! - (2010-10-08)
  [3222] Clickjacking - another way to get you to follow a malicious link - Facebook issue - (2011-03-29)
  [3291] Pay and refund scam - alive and kicking against Melksham businesses - (2011-05-16)
  [3480] Direct Message: Really horrible blog about you ... a clever phishing trip, said to be from an MP - (2011-10-14)
  [3859] Youve Been Selected for the 2012 Edition of the Global Registry - (2012-09-16)
  [4385] A booking that looks too good to be true? It probably is too good to be true! - (2015-01-05)
  [4651] Pressure selling in the fire safety business - (2016-02-19)

Back to
More HowTo diagrams - MySQL, Tomcat and Java
Previous and next
Horse's mouth home
Forward to
The Longest Possible Day
Some other Articles
Does fruit and veg drag on?
What is my real and my effective ID? [Linux]
The Longest Possible Day
Ken Palm, iTime, and Domain Name Tasting
More HowTo diagrams - MySQL, Tomcat and Java
3 hours from Milton Keynes
July child ponders on August children
What is built in to this httpd and PHP?
mod_proxy and mod_proxy_ajp - httpd
4759 posts, page by page
Link to page ... 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96 at 50 posts per page

This is a page archived from The Horse's Mouth at http://www.wellho.net/horse/ - the diary and writings of Graham Ellis. Every attempt was made to provide current information at the time the page was written, but things do move forward in our business - new software releases, price changes, new techniques. Please check back via our main site for current courses, prices, versions, etc - any mention of a price in "The Horse's Mouth" cannot be taken as an offer to supply at that price.

Link to Ezine home page (for reading).
Link to Blogging home page (to add comments).

You can Add a comment or ranking to this page

© WELL HOUSE CONSULTANTS LTD., 2023: 48 Spa Road • Melksham, Wiltshire • United Kingdom • SN12 7NY
PH: 01144 1225 708225 • EMAIL: info@wellho.net • WEB: http://www.wellho.net • SKYPE: wellho

PAGE: http://www.wellho.net/mouth/1772_Ken ... sting.html • PAGE BUILT: Sun Oct 11 16:07:41 2020 • BUILD SYSTEM: JelliaJamb